You’ve Got To Be Kitten Me! { First Birthday }

Well, somehow it happened. She turned one. That little baby girl we were bringing home from the hospital just a year ago celebrated her first birthday recently!

dsc_0286

It feels like it was only last month we were constantly changing diapers, feeding every two hours, checking on her every five seconds while she slept, and were up at all hours of the night. Oh wait, I take that back. As far as the sleeping goes that was last month. What was life like before an uninterrupted 4 hours of sleep? I can’t quite remember, but I will totally take the life I have now with this independent, full of energy, super happy, and often quite stubborn one year old. She’s amazing and fully worth it!

We wanted to give her a birthday party she would be able to enjoy, or as much as they really can at this age. So coming up with the theme was easy. Cats. Olivia loves cats. I’m not surprised. I love cats. We have three cats. It’s in her genes.

I wanted it to be bright, colorful, and girly. The colors we chose were pink and teal. I have to admit I did a lot of the designs last-minute, but there was a ton of inspiration on Pinterest to help me out.

dsc_0291

There were a few details I really loved. I found a paw print hole punch at Michael’s, and used this on her birthday banner to run the baker’s twine through. I also used it to tie the ribbon onto the favor bags. The small details that may not be totally noticeable immediately are always a fun touch.

Chalk paw prints were drawn on the sidewalk leading to the front door, and I made a cat face wreath to hang on the door.

I found a picture of a cat balloon online, and recreated it. I think this was Olivia’s favorite thing from the whole party. For three days afterwards, every time she saw it, she pointed and laughed. I kinda now want to make a cat balloon on a weekly basis. She loved it that much (who am I kidding – I loved it that much too)!

dsc_0275 dsc_0270

Her cat themed desserts also turned out adorable, and delicious!

dsc_0294

The smash cake was another story. Super happy before the cake, but tears, lots of tears, after. She wouldn’t touch it. But that’s ok, because there were plenty of kids around that wanted to do the smashing and eating for her! We even tried the next day when it was just my husband and I at home. Same result. How is this my child? I love sweets!

dsc_0357

dsc_0359

Regardless, she still had a great time with all her friends and family and we were so happy everyone could celebrate such a special day with us. I loved how the party turned out, not just because it was adorable, but seeing Olivia take it all in – pointing, smiling, and laughing at all the cats everywhere made my heart melt. It was a day we will definitely never forget! Happy 1st birthday sweet girl!

Cat Cake by A Piece of Cake
Cookies by Kylie’s Cookies
Smash Cake by Tom Thumb Bakery

Leave a Reply

