Wild One First Birthday Party

I just got back from Dallas as we celebrated my sweet niece’s first birthday (kitten themed – can’t wait to share the pics!), and it reminded me how I never shared my son’s first birthday party – so here we are!

Nine months ago my son turned one – how do I freeze time?!?! – and I threw him a small and simple birthday party. Those poor second children – Emmie got a huge party with over 30 people and Easton got a small dinner with family :) I think you realize with the second just how little time you have to do these things – and I throw parties for a living! Plus, the last thing we needed was more presents and toys in the house! Still, it was an important celebration so I still wanted to mark the occasion with a cute theme and decor.

Once Easton learned to crawl and move, he has never slowed down! This kid requires constant attention as he is a climber, jumper and has no fear. He is my “wild one”, so the theme seemed perfect! I took some cues from the adorable “Where the wild things are” book and decorated with gold crowns and arrows. For some masculine colors I love the combo of navy and teal, and to add a punch of color I used coral and gold. Balloons, banners, place cards, a cake topper and coordinating straws helped tie the whole look together. For a simple and stylish party, I think we delivered :) He won’t remember it, but I will remember his smiles!

dsc_0574-2dsc_0597-2

dsc_0604-2

Leave a Reply

