Five for Friday :: New Mom Must Haves

Hello all! I have been so out of touch with the blog since having my baby boy that’s its finally nice to be back! We are starting a new concept with on blog and doing a weekly post called “Five for Fridays”, to share the five current things we are obsessing over so y’all can start obsessing with us too!

Since I am a new mommy again (he’s 2 months old now), my post this week is about my five must haves post-baby! Most of the time after giving birth everything revolves around the baby, and you forget to take care of you.(Sometimes you don’t even have time to shower!) While it is good to dote on your little one, you can’t neglect yourself. When you feel better about yourself you are a happier person, and it is always good to be in a more positive state when dealing with an unpredictable newborn!

five for friday new mom must haves:: ONE ::

With that in mind, my favorite item at the moment are these elastic waist shorts from J Crew Factory. I was stumbling around the mall one day trying to find shoes for my 3-year-old, when I saw these in the window – and I am so glad I did! If you have ever had a baby you know that you don’t feel good about your body right after, and you fall somewhere in between fitting into your regular clothes and maternity wear. That’s where these come in! I love that they are elastic and fit me now, and will continue to still fit even after I lose a little more weight! To top it off, I love that they AREN’T maternity clothes and that they are extremely comfortable. I am basically living in these shorts right now. They probably weren’t designed with new moms in mind but man did they hit the nail on the head with them!

:: TWO ::

Since clothes aren’t my friend right now, I splurged on a new pair of sunglasses for the summer. These Tory Burch navy shades are amazing – durable (which is important with kids), stylish, and I love the touch of color. I will live in these the next few months! It is always nice to be able to treat yourself to an item or two that goes with just about anything.

:: THREE ::

Naked 3 Eyeshadow. The light & shimmery colors are gorgeous and it even comes in a durable compact with its own brush. As someone whose life is on the go, I love that I can apply it at home or in the car with ease.

:: FOUR ::

Behind a sleeping baby is a happy mommy, and that is why I am obsessed with my new CarseatCanopy.com cover. If he falls asleep in the car, I can take him into the stores without any bright lights shining on his face. It also keeps nosy ladies from putting their face in his, which hopefully keeps him away from getting sick anytime soon! The cover costs $49, but I found a coupon online (use code: PJBABY) which gets you the cover for free as it is $50 off!!! (you only pay shipping and handling, and in my case, a very reasonable monogram fee). I would recommend for any new mom! I wish I would have gotten it sooner!

:: FIVE ::

Back to a sleepy baby again – the Rock N’ Play. This keeps my angel snuggled at night, and at two months I am getting an 8 hour stretch of sleep – which makes a world of a difference from those 2 to 3 mini sleep sessions. Easton had a cold for several weeks, so having him at an angle was a life saver and recommended by my doctor. I love how cozy he is in it, and that he sleeps soundly! I didn’t have this with my first kid (not fair!) and would absolutely recommend for any new mom to be!

While the most current thing I am obsessed with is my new little bundle of joy, these five items are my current favorites for any new mommy! To all you new moms out there – I wish you lots of rest and sleep! Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

