Peter Rabbit Themed Easter Party + Inspiration

I have always loved Peter Rabbit. Growing up I read all of the stories, and now that I have children of my own I get to read them the books before they go to bed. So it wasn’t a surprise that as soon as the Peter Rabbit products arrived in our shop, I knew I had the theme for my daughters annual Easter egg hunt! I hate to play favorites, as I do love all of our products, but I think these might be at the top of my list. The soft colors are beautiful and the illustrations on the paper products are so sweet and charming! Just perfect for any baby shower or first birthday – but they also worked quite nicely for our Easter Egg hunt!

This party was a huge success on all accounts: the kids had a great time searching for eggs and munching on desserts; I loved planning, hosting, and had a fabulous time socializing with my friends; and my husband was pleased since the whole party (including décor, food and entertainment) cost me only $250! That was for 24 people including 15 kids!  There is no greater satisfaction than seeing a lovely party come together that is also budget friendly!  So how do you get this look? I’m happy to share how I was able to do this so effortlessly and cost effectively!DSCN2430

Décor

Using tableware from the Undercover Hostess Shop, I bought 24 Peter Rabbit plates, 2 Peter Rabbit serving trays, a set of Peter Rabbit napkins,  a coordinating paper table linen (loved this as it looked high quality and was easy to clean up after), and 24 blue and white polka dot plates for the kids table. Decor Cost: $50.

DSCN2399DSCN2441Coincidentally a few weeks ago, I received several too-cute-for-words Peter Rabbit baby gifts after the birth of my second child. How perfect! I love being able to re-purpose items I already have! I also pulled from some of the Easter décor I had around the house (the ducks, rabbit, wood crate, etc.)

DSCN2445DSCN2437DSCN2397Below you can find some of the Peter Rabbit themed decorations:

Peter Rabbit stuffed bunny – Barnes & Noble
Peter Rabbit quilt (hung on wall) – Barnes & Noble
Peter Rabbit ABC Blocks – Barnes & Noble
Blue Peter Rabbit plate – Pottery Barn Kids

Food

For kids, I always look to find something easy to prepare and serve. This time I made peanut butter and jelly sandwiches in festive Easter shapes using my Easter themed cookie cutters. For sides, I filled three different snacks (cheese cubes, grapes and Annie’s Bunny Crackers) in plastic Easter eggs. The plastic Easter eggs were displayed in egg cartons that were from reused from the deviled eggs. It is really cute for presentation purposes, and it was very easy for the kids to just grab one and add it to their plate. The kids loved opening up the eggs to find out what was inside!DSCN2444DSCN2446DSCN2460For the adults, I wanted simple food that I could keep in the refrigerator and just set out after the egg hunt was over. I tend to have a habit of going overboard cooking, which means I don’t get to enjoy the party and I miss what it is all about. To ensure I was able to see my daughter take part in all the fun with her friends, I made most of the food the day before. I also bought appetizers from my local grocery store or Costco. The menu consisted of: chicken salad sandwiches (Costco), club sandwiches (homemade), salad (homemade), Italian meat rollups (Costco), caprese salad (homemade), deviled eggs (homemade), and fresh fruit (grocery store). Food Cost: $150.

DSCN2442DSCN2443DSCN2395I purchased mini cupcakes from my local grocery store, which were a steal at 36 for $10. DSCN2398DSCN2436 As a special dessert, I whipped up some very easy Rice Krispie treat nests. To make these all you need are Rice Krispie treats, green icing, and jelly beans.

Activities

The main event was the Easter Egg Hunt of course! I hid approximately 160 eggs in my house, which gave each child the opportunity to collect roughly 10 eggs. The plastic eggs were purchased from Wal-Mart ($2 for 48) and stuffed with candy, stickers, pennies, and small toys. The Dollar Store is also an easy and budget friendly option to find treats. Activities Cost: $30DSCN2457

This party was a blast, and am thrilled everyone had such a great time! The Peter Rabbit theme turned out even more adorable than I imagined. Now I am even contemplating using it for my son’s first birthday next year!

Love this party theme for yourself? Right now you can purchase select Peter Rabbit tableware, and even more specialty Peter Rabbit products are arriving in the shop next month! We will also be adding a Peter Rabbit Hostess Kit! Make sure to check back for you next baby shower, birthday party, or even for next Easter!

One thought on “Peter Rabbit Themed Easter Party + Inspiration

Leave a Reply

