DIY :: Metallic Easter Egg Designs

Easter is on its way, so I thought I would share this fun silver metallic egg DIY with you guys. Decorating eggs is always fun, and I love how everyone can make them their own. There is so much inspiration on Pinterest for unique ways to color and display eggs – so here is just one of the many! 

easter-egg-materialsFor the materials, I used:

  • Hard boiled eggs
  • Egg dye tablets (you can also paint the eggs, or just leave them white for a clean, simple look)
  • Egg dipper – if using dye
  • Martha Stewart Liquid Gilding in Silver
  • Pencil with unused eraser
  • Paint brush

easter-egg-step2

First I dyed the eggs and let them dry. I wanted more of a pastel color to them so I didn’t let the eggs sit in the dye for very long. Once they were dry, I used the metallic silver gilding to make patterns. For easy polka dots, dip a clean eraser into the metallic paint and then apply that gently onto the egg. easter-egg-step1You can keep adding polka dots by repeating this step in any pattern you like. Wait for one side to dry before rotating around so the paint doesn’t smear.easter-egg-groupOnce I had my polka dots I wanted to mix it up so all the eggs didn’t look the same. I used a paintbrush to paint the lower portion of the egg with the silver liquid gilding. easter-egg-candy-cup2Ta-da! Cute metallic Easter eggs ready for display! metallic easter eggsThese fun eggs will make any Easter shine! Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

